CAF Announces Qualifying Draw for AFCON 2025

CAF Announces Qualifying Draw for AFCON 2025

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has unveiled the qualifying draw for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), set to be hosted in Morocco.

The draw features 48 countries, divided into four pots based on the latest FIFA rankings released in June. The top two teams in each group will qualify for AFCON 2025, except for the group with hosts Morocco. In Morocco’s group, the hosts will qualify automatically, along with the best-placed team, regardless of Morocco’s position.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria are in Pot One, along with other top-ranked teams such as Tunisia, Algeria, Cameroon, Mali, South Africa, and DR Congo.

The 48 teams have been placed into eight groups. The Super Eagles have been drawn into Group D alongside Benin Republic, Rwanda, and Libya.

When Will the AFCON 2025 Qualifying Series Start?

The Africa Cup of Nations qualifying series is set to begin in September 2024.

When Will AFCON 2025 Be Played?

The 2025 Africa Cup of Nations will be held from December 21, 2024, to January 18, 2025. This scheduling adjustment by CAF accommodates the FIFA Club World Cup, which will be played in June 2024. This will be the first time in Nations Cup history that the tournament will run over the Christmas and New Year periods.

Afcon 2025 qualifying draw

Group A: Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, The Gambia.

Group B: Morocco, Gabon, Central African Republic, Lesotho.

Group C: Egypt, Cape Verde, Mauritania, Botswana.

Group D: Nigeria, Benin, Libya, Rwanda.

Group E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Liberia.

Group F: Ghana, Angola, Sudan, Niger.

Group G: Ivory Coast, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Chad.

Group H: DR Congo, Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia.

Group I: Mali, Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau, Eswatini.

Group J: Cameroon, Namibia, Kenya, Zimbabwe.

Group K: South Africa, Uganda, Congo, South Sudan.

Group L: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Burundi.

Leave a Comment